A Steaming Bowl of Heimishness

If you ever need to explain to someone what makes cholent so cholenty, start with this pic.

12 Responses to “A Steaming Bowl of Heimishness”

  1. Oh, gross. My mom’s looks soooo much better. That just looks like…ech. Just ech. I shall not use a simile.

  2. Frum Punk Says:

    That was my dinner and I gotta tell you, so much better than it looks. Maybe its because I don’t eat cholent very often, but when I do I really enjoy it. And I got this bowl from the greasiest, heimishy, chassidishy place possible. Fantastic. I could feel my arteries hardening with every spoon.

  3. Wow, I just remembered why I don’t eat cholent…and welcome back 🙂

  4. it looks like the presentation of the dish dfeinaetly need improving i would not eat that even if it was nice

  5. Frum Punk Says:

    James: Cholent is supposed to look like that. Rule of thumb is, the worst it looks the better it tastes.

  6. That looks fan-fuking-tastic man

  7. I have a rather random question for you, FP. It’s about music (not punk, though), so I thought that you would be the best qualified person to answer it. Why is it that Van Halen is considered to be such a masculine bad when their most famous song is “Jump”? (I’m serious here. I’m not trying to be amusing.) It’s been puzzling me for a while.

  8. Excellent question Curious. Most scholars feel that any band wearing pants that tight can be considered a masculine band even if their biggest hit is something akin to ‘It’s Raining Men’. When the band appears to be smuggling an entire jar of kosher dills on stage between them, the song doesn’t really matter. Other experts disagree and chalk it up to the very nature of a band. Rock band instruments are very phallic. Look at the way a guitar is held, waist level going up at a 30° angle. Drum sticks are firmly gripped and I’m not even going to mention what someone screaming into a microphone appears to be doing.

    Of course, it could just be the number of women attributed to your band when you were fronted by David Lee Roth. History will decide.

  9. *Gasping from laughter* Wonderful answer, FP. I shall spend all of Pesach grinning.

  10. I’ve got another music question for you, although I’m not sure that you’ll be able to answer this one. Basically, one of my favorite singers/artists is Amanda Palmer, and I always have a lot of trouble with trying to describe her style in one or two words (or, at most, one sentence). I don’t really like using her semi-official label as a) it’s really for her ex-band (THe Dresden Dolls) and b) no one understands it (Brechtian Punk Cabaret). I was wondering if you would know how to describe her accurately and efficiently. (If you’ve never listened to her, try “Astronaut”. Best. Song. Ever.) If not, thanks anyway! 🙂

  11. Cholent? Blech.
    Dafina!

Leave a Reply

