I Can’t Eat This

I’ve done time. Hard time. Yeshiva time. I went to yeshiva, post high school for multiple years. When it comes to food, I’m a tough battle-hardened son of a gun. I’ve had the month old cholent. And yes, I cooked that cholent in my dorm rooms George Forman. I’ve choked down my fair share of grease based meat substances.  I’ve got stories of rummaging through left over simcha food that could make your intestines curl up and beg for mercy. I once had milk that was four years old. It was a little crunchy, but still good.

Or so I thought.

One of the standout meals I had this past year was a shabbos lunch spent with a chassidic family in Jerusalem. When I say chassidish I mean Chassidish, capital C. The women ate in the kitchen. Everyone but me owned a streimel. Yiddish was flying haphazardly in all directions. The peyos  were swinging and the gartels were tight. For the appetizer, my host was brought a massive tray with about thirty hard boiled eggs and several whole onions. While we watched, he proceeded to shell the eggs and chop the onion, enrapturing us with what was presumably a chassidic tale from his rebbe about how generations before us had prepared their own egg and onion dishes at the shabbos table while the guests waited slavishly wondering if for the main course, he would be brought a live chicken and all the ingredients of a cholent, to prepare it in front of us and tell us more tales in yiddish, leading us to take mental bets on whether or not we would finally be eating by tuesday.

It’s not that I’m spoilt. I can appreciate different customs and foods. It’s that I’m squeamish. Very American, chicken-soup-and-brisket type. I can try new things, I just don’t like to eat them when they’ve been passed hand to hand to reach me. I was polite, I ate my eggs and fish and it wasn’t bad, but seeing it passed under all those beards made me choke it down. Something that was almost reversed when the next course was passed down – boiled cows hoof. They told me it was boiled for a full day until it was just a blob of wobbly gelatin. I can try new things, but not the part of the cow that spends it’s life wading through feces. And it looked… wrong. It doesn’t look like food, and watching people slap it on bread and eat it with a gusto made me reconsider my previous plans to digest my food rather than regurgitate it across the table. (I found out afterwards that it’s more common than I thought. My grandmother knows what it is, but I still don’t understand why you would eat that part of the cow unless forced to by poverty or some sadistic poretz.)

But nothing could have prepared me for the main course. Initially I breathed a sigh of relief when the cholent was served. Finally, something familiar. Meat, beans and potatoes. Nothing can go wrong with this, right? That was until the boy next to me shows me the special delicacy his mother puts in the cholent. A whole chickens foot. Bones, skin and all. The whole thing, sitting right there on his spoon, practically squawking at me a warning to consider what other delights might my cholent contain. I’ve never lost my appetite faster, especially as he described how she cooks it until the bones are soft so it doesn’t crunch that much in your mouth. I’ve nothing against chicken feet per say, but they don’t look like an appetizing part of this complete breakfast. I spent the rest of the meal picking the potatoes in my bowl, too grossed out to eat the meat, but trying not to appear rude.

I’ve never thought before that there were things I simply couldn’t stomach to try and eat. Years of yeshiva food is supposed to steel you for anything. By all rights I should be able to eat anything anywhere. But I learned there’s a difference between spoiled litvish food and properly cooked chassidish delicacies. And I’ll risk the infection of a piece of schnitzel from three months ago thats been sitting under my dorm mates bed, before I’ll attempt to eat a fresh chicken foot, cows hoof or even a fresh piece of salmon passed hand to hand to hand.

13 Responses to “I Can’t Eat This”

  1. Oh, aren’t we the spoiled little… Oops. I just lost my lunch too! Kudos for trying to tough it out. How much z’chus do you get in Olam Habah for ingesting the strange, the bizzare, and the unusual?

  2. that jelly shit is called “Galeh”. Yech.

  3. Galeh is amazing when cooked right! My mum puts chicken feet in the soup, it can be a little uncomfortable for guests who aren’t used to the weird traditional delicacies the grandparents grew up with.

  4. I thought the jelly stuff was p’tcha? (Sidenote: we eat that too — arabstyle. it’s usually lamb hooves and tongues and its boiled for days and then spooned over chickpeas and garlic and pita. want to come over?)

  5. Nameless and Jacob

    Its has two names p’tcha and gala.

  6. MIM: Veyavo hashlishi veyachria baynahem.

  7. Ha- this made me laugh and want to toss my kishkes simultaneously. But back in the ‘olden’ days- they used whatever they had, feet and hooves included. They still sell chickens feet here in Israel, right out in the open, for all those who want it in their chicken soup. Yum.

  8. That’s also the one thing I can’t stand. Jello should only be made from packets, and preferably with vodka.

    Btw, we use lamb’s head on Rosh Hashanah. And you remember the kind of fish we eat. 😉

  9. I grew up in a franks and fries kind of house so it was a total shocker to me when I was invited for a meal at my husband’s cousins when I was in Isreal during my engagement.

    They had the WORKS.

    Too bad I’m not a yeshiva guy. I hurled when I saw the chicken claw in the soup. I made it to the bathroom but left my dignity somewhere on the table.

  10. Oh come on people. Stop with the chicken feet already. This is basic voodoo. None of you had Jamaican friends?

  11. Joel Salomon Says:

    Ptcha always reminds me of the giggling Jello in Robert Sheckley’s Untouched by Human Hands.

  12. ptcha, or galeh? How bout what the british and the french call it, aspic or cold consomme or calf’s foot jelly? It’s not made from the hoof, it’s made from the bone and muscle of the lower leg. And chicken feet, if well cleaned, happen to be delicious. Boy, I know many well-fed Jews have a superabundance of food phobias, but you take the cake. What I find horrible is plunking a live lobster into a pot of boiling water.

  13. Hang on there, Barzilai. There are tongues and hooves in there, too. And you could call it what old-school American pioneers called it: headcheese. We can talk all day about cute little animal byproduct jellies, but why? Especially when it looks like you’re taking the highroad by condeming the cooking method of a little splishsplashing crustacean that has an absence of significant pain receptors and is only alive for a few seconds, anyway….

Leave a Reply

