Mazel Tov

In case you hadn’t heard (and where have you been?) our resident friendly face The Babysitter got engaged last week. I had the good fortune to meet the future Mrs Babysitter at a shabbos meal last summer hosted by Moshe.

Tips to her new chosson (or ‘chossy’ as I call him): She doesnt eat fish with the heads attached, she doesn’t know where to buy alcohol, so you’ll have to get the Friday stock of Kedem (or Herzog if you’re all fancy-like) and she won’t eat much cholent. On the plus side, rumor has it she’s great with kids.

Now we watch, sadly as her blog falls by the wayside as more pressing matters spring up day to day until her married life is consumed with more urgent responsibilities than breathing life in an old e-journal. The pages will get dusty and yellowed, unread and forgotten as the seasons change and life moves on. Until someday, perhaps while pesach cleaning, she discovers her long forgotten words, dreams and hopes. Maybe she’ll crack open the cover and scan a few lines, reveling in the innocence and nostalgia of it all. And then, maybe, just maybe, she’ll begin to write a new post. “Hi, I know I haven’t been here in a while but so much has happened…”

13 Responses to “Mazel Tov”

  1. […] In case you hadn’t heard (and where have you been?) our resident friendly face The Babysitter got engaged last week. I had the good fortune to meet the future Mrs Babysitter at a shabbos meal last…Read More […]

  2. Yes and no. The babysitter didnt really blog about shidduchim so she might keep it going for a bit.

  3. Its not about blogging about shidduchim, its about no more time to blog. I’ll do a full post on the phenomenon sometime. There’s a general rule that blogs last until you get married, unless you started it after you got married. They rarely cross over.

  4. FrumPunk: wow I’m honored that you dedicated a post to me!
    Thanks for the Mazel Tov!
    I came up with a nickname for my chosson- SN for Super Nice.
    I’ll give SN a link to this post…
    And lol, I really do eat Chulent, just not Dafina with interesting stuff in it.
    SN has been making chulent since he was bar mitzvah’d, so I gotta eat his! 🙂

    And lol, don’t worry, my blog won’t fall away, but cute little story there.
    I can’t wait to be a Mommy Blogger! 🙂

  5. Frum Punk: maybe I’ll be the exception, and it’ll cross over.

    I’m already planning a post, concerning the gemorah and dogs, should be interesting.

  6. Judging by Frum Skeptic’s post frequency since she got engaged and now married…

  7. Dont forget Sporadic intel also was a big poster then got engaged and turned into what she wrote about most, and now she hardly makes a peep.

  8. It’s totally true — after all, when I didn’t post for two months, it was absolutely because I had gotten married secretly.

    It just happens.

  9. MIM: No big loss re: SI

    NF: Huh? Wtf?

  10. Jacob Da Jew: I think she was being sarcastic?

  11. I’m gonna try very very hard to reenter the blog world. I’m already slowly adjusting to the responsibilities of married life. so that means Ill have the energy to involve myself in blogging 🙂

  12. That’s what she said.
    And go read your email and reply!

  13. Thats the problem with shidduch blogs – when they get a shidduch there’s not much else to write although something tells me that when Bad For Shidduchim gets married she will have plenty to complain about

Leave a Reply

