So I’m in Israel

Have you ever looked up at the ceiling of the arrivals terminal in Ben-Guerion? It’s littered with helium balloons, just stuck there. My flight got in early and I landed in the middle of the night, so I had to hang around for a few hours just so I wouldn’t be showing up at the dorms at 5am, waking people up and raising a chorus of “…uh, who’re you?”. It wasn’t bad, if you like people watching. I saw the crowds come and wait for their loved ones, helium balloons in hand, shriek when they arrived and then I watched the balloons float towards the ceiling on their way out. I guess because it’s fun to get a balloon, but do you really want to have to carry it around all day? I was wondering what they do at the end of the day. Do they have a guy with a long stick whose job it is to get them down, or do they just hang around up there until they deflate?

I’ve got lots more to write but I’m running out of internet time and the owner is starting to glare at me. I didn’t expect it to be so hard to find an internet cafe here. If anyone knows of any good ones, please let me know. This post is from a borrowed laptop and wifi.

Have a good shabbos.

5 Responses to “So I’m in Israel”

  1. The balloons were something that caught my eye too….

    http://tinyurl.com/pd62q8

    http://tinyurl.com/qb5mnp

  2. at the tachanat hamerkazit in j’lem there is an internet cafe which has pretty decent rates for a card. and if you buy enough iced coffees you get one for free.

  3. I was about to type what frumcollegegirl wrote. I was there all the time. They’re very good.

  4. Welcome. Feel free to invite yourself while you’re here.

  5. ANY FREE WI-FI IN J-LEM?

Leave a Reply

