The Baby Writes

(I don’t usually get personal but I wanted to write this and what’s the point of having a blog if you don’t get to indulge yourself once in a while?)

My family moved house about six months ago and we’ve only just recently gotten all the furniture and shelves needed to store things, so we’ve been bringing boxes out of storage. Naturally, this means we’re finding random things that noone even knew we had, such as a letter written by me and my brothers that was probably written when I was eleven or so apologizing for being bad (doesn’t say what our crime was though) to our parents. It’s a terrible thing to read, because all I see is my spelling and grammar mistakes (“were sorry we shuldnt have been bad”) What was I thinking!?

I’ve found some awesome stuff too, mostly in the form of old photo albums. I love looking at old photos, a glimpse into the past, seeing how people were before you were there to know them. I’ve found and scanned what is now my favorite picture ever. I’d never seen it before last shabbos. It’s my dad and I on a train, with my dad pointing my attention to the camera my mother (I assume) was holding. It’s very weird to look at, because it’s a picture of my dad at around my age, he was a few years older then than I am now. I’ve never really seen pics of my parents early married life. And my dad had some funky sunglasses, but I can forgive that. It was the eighties after all. But still it’s a snapshot at two people, one at the start of his life and one near the start of his adult life. It just makes me ponder all the things that have happened since then and the things neither of us could have known or expected, in this fleeting moment of innocence. To me it’s a picture of a world where nothing exists but the love of a father for his son. And they’re on a train, which ties into my idea of both being caught in a moment not knowing where life will take them from here.

medadglasses1

As you can see, my hairstyle hasn’t changed a great deal, though those of you who’ve met me know that my hair is considerably darker now. True story: when we had to give in our baby pictures for my high school yearbook, noone believed my picture was me.

By the way, the title for this is both the obvious and also a tie in to the fact that The Babysitter had a very similar post where she found some letters she’d written to her mother years before. I don’t think hers were apologies for misbehaving though… (I’d link it, but I’ve looked through both her blogs and I can’t find the post.)

Edit: The Babysitters post is here.

13 Responses to “The Baby Writes”

  1. Me, or? lol, thanks.

  2. yea, mine had tons of spelling and grammar mistakes too.

    Very cool picture and connection. It’s great to look back at childhood pics. I was actually just thinking about it this morning. How happy and thankful I am that I had such a good memorable childhood.

    What part of your father was in that book? I forgot, the eyes? I remember it was some facial feature…

    and I hadn’t expected you to have had blond hair as a kid, when did it change colors? and you looked really cute as a kid, adorable!

    That’s cool that you thought of my post… it was this one

  3. Yes, it was his eyes. Surprised you remembered that.
    My hair turned darker at around age 3 or 4 I’m told.

  4. I hope Shlomik’s hair not gonna change…

  5. Frum Punk: o cool. yea, it was memory by association.

    Interesting. By me too, that happened, I used to have blond hair, then it changed.

    Moshe: not to worry, I think his will stay blond

  6. You never know. My dads hair stayed blond (as you can see) but none of his kids did. Except my redheaded brother, but his was never baby blond anyway. But his hair stayed red is my point.

  7. Wow this picture is amazing, you and your dad look so genuinely happy I can see why it’s your favorite.
    My mother has a box somewhere of all the letters me and my siblings used to write to her most were apologies and promises to be better, but there are a few that ask for more toys and things. Idk why I always thought the letter writing thing was only something my family did.

    And this reminded me of 4th grade when we were learning how to write a personal letter, the assignment was to write a letter to ourselves about where we think we’d be in 4 years and our teacher said she’d mail it to us when we were in 8th grade. She only taught for one year then moved so everyone forgot about it of course but she actually remembered and did it, it’s the weirdest thing to actually read back all the expectations I had for myself.

  8. Stacy: I came upon a site at bored.com that allows you to write a thing to yourself, like a time capsule, and they’ll e-mail it to you. I filled one out 3 years ago, but I forgot when I set it to come. But its an interesting feeling to see how much you have changed.

  9. Great pick. Wow were you blond. Your dad would probably love the post.

  10. I have some old pictures of me with an afro, high puffed up curly hair, I was 2 at the time.

  11. Very poignant, something to treasure and show to the next generation.

  12. Pocket Princess Says:

    (SQUEALS)

    How CUTE!

    PS I totally just freaked out about being the Yay! in one of your other blogs. I was so not expecting that. I guess that’s what happens when you go online. So much for my libertarian ideals, I’ll never be able to get off the grid!

Leave a Reply

