Just A Quick Joke

A boy is about to go on his first date, and is nervous about what to talk about. He asks his father for advice. The father replies: “My son, there are three subjects that always work. These are food, family, and philosophy.”

The boy picks up his date and they go to a hotel lobby. Sodas in front of them, they stare at each other for a long time, as the boy’s nervousness builds. He remembers his father’s advice, and chooses the first topic. He asks the girl: “Do you like latkes?” She says “No,” and the silence returns.

After a few more uncomfortable minutes, the boy thinks of his father’s suggestion and turns to the second item on the list. He asks, “Do you have a brother?” Again, the girl says “No” and there is silence once again.

The boy then plays his last card. He thinks of his father’s advice and asks the girl the following question: “If you had a brother, would he like latkes?”

12 Responses to “Just A Quick Joke”

  1. cute.

    sounds a bit familiar, I think I saw this in a different context, in a not kosher type of joke.

  2. Babysitter: You’re thinking of a different joke then.

  3. My friend Yedidye says:
    “‘The financial situation at the moment is so
    bad that Jewish women are now marrying for love”

  4. that was cute. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. FrumPunk: right, it was a different joke, just this one reminded me of it.

    LakewoodFallingDown: that sounds familiar…

  6. Could be, I never saw his blog. If so, he beat me to it.

  7. Funny. Sounds just like a guy I went out with.

    (He wasn’t very talkative which left me leading the conversation)

    Me: do you like to read?
    Him: no
    Me: do you like movies or TV?
    Him: no
    Me: do you listen to music?
    Him: Not really
    Me: Are you into sports?
    Him: Nope

    It kept on like this for another 30 min. until I gave up and asked him to take me home.

  8. Did u hear the one about the young man who said: “I got married before the war.” They asked him, ” How is that possible?” He answered, “I got married and then the fighting really started”!! Barumpbump……

  9. The way I heard the joke, it was about noodles.

Leave a Reply

