Anyone See That CBS Report?

CBS did a report on people in the Chassidic communities who cheat on their wives and husbands. I didn’t see the broadcast, but I read the summary on their website: http://wcbstv.com/seenat11/hasidic.jews.extramarital.2.873251.html

Now its difficult for me, when reading about a topic so serious, to find something in the article so hilarious. This quote pretty much sent me into fits:

“I know of swingers in the ultra orthodox community, which shocked me to hear it … just the way it would shock anybody else,” said “Yossi” of Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

Yossi said he knows adultery is taking place because he said he had affairs with several Hasidic women.

That might be the funniest thing I’ve ever seen or read from a serious news story. How far can this kind of cognitive dissonance go in news stories?

“Yes, I heard about the shootings. Its was terrible, I couldn’t believe it.” Says Mr Tom Buckley. Mr Buckley then proceeded to continue firing into the crowded mall.

“And the top story today, it seems Laura Bush, the First Lady of the United States has been having an affair. We go now to George Cooper at the White House. George?” “Hi, I’m George Cooper. As I found out last night, the First Lady is indeed having an affair. The affair began when I snuck into the side window of the Lincoln Bedroom late last night…”

4 Responses to “Anyone See That CBS Report?”

  1. That is funny, but perhaps the Chassidish guy thought he was the only one, and then when he found out others were having an affair too he was shocked, but then he was comfortable to admit that he’s been doing it too.

    But those other 2 are really crazy, I can’t believe their real stories. Unless maybe they were recorded live as it was being told, and they didn’t get the second part of information till later, and then it was too late to realize what they had said.

  2. No no, the other two were my examples of the same type of thing. Of saying something bad happened and you’re shocked… because you’re the one doing it. Only the first quote is real.

  3. o, lol, I was wondering. So then my first comment is the same.
    It makes more sense now.

Leave a Reply

