Real Eel Veal

I was putting some sliced meat left over from Yom Tov on my plate when my sister comes over to see what I’m doing. For context, she went to an aquarium today with some friends. She asks what I’m having and I say its veal. She goes “ugh, you’re eating those slimy electric things that swim in the ocean!?”.

I then explained to her what veal is, and how its different than an eel.

She’s fifteen. Should I be worried?

8 Responses to “Real Eel Veal”

  1. Uh, number one she’s a teen, a girl at that and English to boot. What do you expect 😛 ?

  2. Uh, number one she’s a teen, a girl at that and English to boot. What do you expect 😛 ?

  3. only if she shops at places where both are available

  4. yes very afraid. My little cousin (age 6) knows what an eel is.

  5. This reminds me of the South Park episode where they change the name of veal to little tortured baby cows, there’s really no confusion there.

    My fifteen year old sister thinks anesthesia and amnesia are the same thing, I try not to think about it to much.

  6. ha, my 21 year old sister gets confused between amnesia and insomnia

  7. My son, at 2 years old, knows what a cow looks like. The hassidish woman at the zoo next to him, doesn’t.

  8. Even I knew what veal was!

    We actually had it for Yom Tov. But I mostly knew about it from having it at restaurants before.

    If she hasn’t eaten out much, then I understand that she wouldn’t know what it is and it’s ok.

Leave a Reply

