I Tip My Borsalino

Frum Meets World, one of my favorite blogs (I enjoy their writing style as well as the content) is celebrating the 10,000 hit milestone. Their milestone looks delicious, and puts my celebration of a screencap with a circle and exclamation to shame. Then again, theirs is a group effort, so I guess its different when you have people to celebrate it with.

P.S. Far Rockaway is a ghetto. Why do people live here, and is it considered “out of town”?

12 Responses to “I Tip My Borsalino”

  1. Why is Far Rockaway a ghetto? And it’s not out-of-town, but it’s not NEW YORK. It’s almost like Monsey, but Monsey is less New Yorkey…shades of gray…

  2. i think far rockaway is the most “out of town” of ny and monsey is more new yorky than far rock.

  3. Far Rock n’ roll Away is a community, mostly. Originally centering around Yeshiva Shor Yoshuv, build by R Friefeld z”tl.

  4. My grandparents had a bungalow in far rockaway, it was near the beach. I used to go there as a kid, I only know that part, and I associate it with summer, beach, bb-q’s, rocky roads, one floor bungalow.

  5. I would live there just to hum the Ramones’ song “Rockaway Beach” at my Shabbos table and have my kids look at me strangely.

  6. tooyoungtoteach: When the nearest supermarket is a C-Town and people tell you not to walk to Kosher Mart at 8pm because you’ll get mugged… thats a ghetto.

    Neil: I know! I’ve had that running through my head the last two days constantly. “Its not hard, not far to reach. We can hitch a ride to Rockaway Beach.”

  7. Hey, I’m in Long Beach. If you don’t have wheels and you want a ride to that show in Nyack next Thursday night, you’re welcome. There’s a Trader Joe’s in Hewlett. C-Town sucks.

  8. Sorry s(b.) but I fly out on Tuesday. Thanks for the invite though.

  9. Good point. I thought you meant ghetto as in mentality, not urban lifestyle.

  10. Yeah, that and the classic “Shira is a Ba’ales Teshuva” aka Sheena is a Punk Rocker

  11. Having once lived in Far Rockaway, and gladly moved on, I cannot come up with a good reason to live there. I like that way they started marketing the side closer to 878 as “West Lawrence” in an attempt to make it more appealing.

    “Shira is a Ba’ales Teshuva” Love that!

  12. There are 11598 people who say they live in East Far Rockaway.

Leave a Reply

