The sound of ears breaking

Many years ago I started a band with a friend. We were both just learning to play guitar and both held the same dissatisfaction with the Jewish music scene. He was into classic rock and I was into punk. We decided to start a Jewish band that actually made good music.

I have to point out that this was pre-Blue Fringe and the rest. Matisyahu would have been a fable. Who would have thought what we failed at would become so popular a few years later? So at the time this was a completely novel idea.

Anyways, doing this blog made me a bit nostalgic so I dug up my old CD binder. I have about four CD’s filled with various demos and covers that we did. They all sound horrible, cheap equipment and recorded on a cheap laptop with a cheap mic from Radioshack. Don’t go expecting anything listenable here. My tone is horrible and I don’t think he can sing. Theres also no mastering or production to speak of. Anyways, be the first to hear these rarities from what might have been!

Theres two Jewish songs, plus an English one (Yechi). (See how stereotypically Jewish we were? 🙂 )

Note: ‘Yechi’ is a joke. We’re not Lubavitchers. It was kind of a phase where we found them hilarious. Lyrics available on request if you can’t understand them.

http://www.4shared.com/file/42741155/1ec90646/Boruch_Hagever.html

http://www.4shared.com/file/42741156/87c057fc/Asher_Boro.html

http://www.4shared.com/file/42741154/69ce36d0/Yechi.html

Instructions: Click on the link. Look to the bottom where it says “Loading File Info”. After a few seconds “Download File” should appear. Ignore the sign up offer at the top right.

10 Responses to “The sound of ears breaking”

  1. […] iaimusic wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptMany years ago I started a band with a friend. We were both just learning to play guitar and both held the same dissatisfaction with the Jewish music scene. He was into classic rock and I was into punk. We decided to start a Jewish band that actually made good music. I have to point out that this was pre-Blue Fringe and the rest. Matisyahu would have been a fable. Who would have thought what we failed at would become so popular a few years later? So at the time this was a completely novel idea. Anyways, doing this blog made me a bit nostalgic so I dug up my old CD binder. I have about four CD’s filled with various demos and covers that we did. They all sound horrible, cheap equipment and recorded on a cheap laptop with a cheap mic from Radioshack. Don’t go expecting anything listenable here. My […] […]

  2. That wasn’t so terrible. I always wanted to be in a band… but I’d actually have to play an instrument to do that, wouldn’t I?

  3. Hi…thanks, I look forward to listening. BTW when was this? How old are you anyway? Have you heard of SkaKotel? And Kayama did jewish reggae before Matis and it was GOOD. But he never made it big like Matis or Blue Fringe ( aka The Blue Fringe Band, not to mention Dov Rosenblatt’s earlier attempt at a jew-band, The Briskers.)

    Can I get copies of your ghetto recordings?

  4. I’m 23 and this was high school and the year or so after. I’ve heard of SkaKotel but never heard them. Never heard of Kayama.

    Did you hear those samples? Do you really want four cd’s full of demos and alternate versions of those? Theres at least four versions of Yechi alone ranging from acoustic overdubs to the original version I wrote which was more punkish before he slowed it down. We also covered “Smells Like Teen Spirit” to “Smells Like My Roomate” as an ode to yeshiva dorm rooms.

    We only ever did one gig which was a bar-mitzvah. We fleshed it out with a real singer, a keyboardist, a metal-influenced drummer and I took over on bass with a downtuned guitar so I could also do rhythm when needed. Its on the bar mitzvah video which I hope to have a copy of someday.

  5. LOL…yes, Thanks for the reminder. I’m listening now. While I wouldn’t say its objectively GOOD MUSIC I am def. enjoying. Would you hook me up with all that jazz?

  6. Oh, yo, what was the name of this band of yours?

  7. I’ll see what I can do. I’ll have to go through a bunch of cd’s. When we were a joke band (at the time of Yechi) we were called 7SEVENTY. Later on we became Silver Lining. Between that we were Stereofuse until we saw another band called that.

  8. […] For the few of you who bothered to listen to any of the songs I posted from my old band in ‘The Sound of Ears Breaking‘ or more specifically, for the single crazed individual who actually requested more, my […]

  9. if anyone wants to hear some jewish hardcore punk, check out my band Moshiach Oi! (and no, i am not a lubavitcher).
    myspace.com/moshiachoi613
    oi!

  10. ברוכים הבאים צי היימיש שמועסן איו טעלפון שמועסן זייט היימיש שעם זיך נישט

    Jewish Chat Room, Heimish Yiddish Phone ChatOwners:…Professor…Shaifeleh…BeNice…Jake…Dimp…Kingdavid… Moderators:…Stan…Josh…Nisht… Lovey

    http://heimishsex.com/ BE HAPPY WITH HEIMISH

Leave a Reply

